Meet “The Librarian”

janelle-ginger-jim-havens

Say “Hello” to the newest member of the Eckhart Public Library family!

Thanks to the generosity of longtime library patron Ginger Post, Eckhart Public Library is able to add one more “staff member” – “The Librarian,” a stainless steel sculpture by James Havens of Woodville, Ohio.

Post has purchased the sculpture and donated it to the library. The sculpture has been on the library terrace since June, as part of the Auburn Arts Commission’s Sculptures on the Square exhibit.

“The Librarian” was exhibitied in the ArtPrize competition in Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 2012 and was on loan to Eckhart Public Library.

Eckhart Public Library held a reception on Monday, September 19, to announce the gift and celebrate Sculptures on the Square. Here is the full text of the remarks given by Ginger Post at that event:

The Star newspaper had an article about a horse-driven wagon ride around town pointing out the statues and explaining about them. On the last day it was offered I decided to go do it. When we got to the library I told the narrator that I really liked the statue on the back terrace. She said it was called “The Librarian,” and that it was for sale, and that the library would really like to have it but couldn’t afford to buy it. I asked if she knew how much it was and she gave me the figure she had heard. I went home, thought about it for a day or two, or three or four, and here we are!

For 75 years I have walked through these doors. And I still miss being able to walk through the Jackson Street front door! As a kid I remember riding my bike and taking books home where in nice weather I laid in a hammock on the front porch reading. Other times I read in bed, sometimes pretending to sleep when Mom called me so that I could continue to read under the covers. My favorite books both then and now are mystery books. As a kid my favorite author – I don’t remember her name, but I know her books were on the south wall in the middle. I also remember the Bobbsey Twins, which were not mysteries but had wonderful stories of their adventures. Today my favorite mystery author is David Rosenfelt, especially his Andy Carpenter series. There are too many other “favorite” authors to mention but I look forward to their new books that seem to come out every few months.

I am delighted to meet the artist, James Havens. I like the way he signed his name. My father, a welder, used the same way to weld his initials into some of his work, like the high school baseball field.

I usually come to the library once a week and have been enjoying “The Librarian” each time I visit, and I am so happy to know that because of my donation she will be staying in Auburn forever.

(Image: Eckhart Public Library director Janelle Graber, donor Ginger Post, and artist James Havens pose with “The Librarian.” Image by Marcee Fisher, The Studio on Main Street.)

About Jenny

I am the Associate Director of Eckhart Public Library. My office is in the Administrative Annex, but I can often be found roaming the Eckhart Public Library Campus, performing acts of librarianship in every department! I love to read and learn about history. I'm also a huge fan of movies, TV and pop culture in general, and I love to read books of all types. Currently, I'm working my way around the romance section, with some historical fiction and graphic novels thrown in for variety! But you never know what I'm going to pick up next.
This entry was posted in Our Patrons, The Community, The Library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

