NIDL Brings You: Stephen King

This time, rather than highlighting some books, I’m just highlighting the author in general. Mr. King has too many books to choose from. Not that other authors don’t, I just can’t choose.

king

Photo used under Creative Commons licensing. Credit and copyright to Flickr user Anne Ruthmann.

Stephen King is best known for his works of horror and psychological thriller/horror. With works such as Cujo, a story about a dog that gets rabies, Under the Dome, a story about a town that gets trapped under a giant dome without prior knowledge that it was going to happen, and It, a story that makes readers rethink what fear really is and how we face our fears (that led the way for the movie that gives us all reason to fear clowns), when you hear the name Stephen King you think horror.

In the mood for a little scare this summer? Check out one of his books from our NIDL collection or stop by the library and pick one up. They’re almost sure to terrify you.

Heather: I didn’t start reading King myself until after a friend let me borrow her copy of On Writing, King’s memoir and book about writing. Before that I’d watched the movie for his book It, but that was about it. Once I read his memoir I wanted to read his work. I think Cujo was my first official King read. I recommend the book, but while I recommend the movie if you really want to watch it, I highly recommend reading the book long before you watch the movie. And if you have a dog, keep an eye on him or her while watching. Mine sat on the couch and watched with me. Only slightly creepy.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in NIDL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

