NIDL Brings You: Goosebumps

Goosebumps is a series originally written by R.L. Stine, a man frequently called the “Stephen King of children’s literature”. While he does have other books and series out there, he’s most known for the Goosebumps books.

werewolf of fever

Of the ones we have in our NIDL collection, The Werewolf of Fever Swamp is one I always recommend. Grady and his sister have just moved with their parents and they’re right next to a swamp and not so close to town. Why did they move? So their dad can do scientist work on studying swamp deer.

One day Grady finds a dog that looks a lot like a wolf. The dog quickly becomes his best friend and Grady’s mood starts to improve. Especially once his parents let him keep the dog when no one in town answers their found dog flyers.

But suddenly there’s a rabbit that’s found mutilated. And swamp deer start getting spooked a lot more frequently. And there’s this awful howling at night. Especially during the full moon. Grady meets another kid who seems to come out of the swamp, but something doesn’t seem quite right. Especially when he starts telling Grady stories of the werewolf in the swamp. Is Grady’s new dog the werewolf? Is there a werewolf?

Sound interesting? Why not read it? Or another of Stine’s other books.

Heather: I was easily scared as a child and R.L. Stine was the first “scary” author I could read. And I could read him at night before bed and not have intense nightmares. I was thrilled to watch the T.V. show Goosebumps because I knew the books so well by the time I started watching it. Now, I’m a bit of a horror nut. I still love reading Goosebumps books. Thank you, Mr. Stine.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in NIDL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

