Goodviews: Croods

croods

Think you’ve got issues with family? Try living with the Croods. Meet Eep (Emma Stone). She’s got a brother named Thunk (Clark Duke) who’s constantly being prey to one thing or another, sister Sandy (Randy Thom) who acts like a wild animal herself and often preys on Thunk, tough as nails grandmother who goes by Gran (Cloris Leachman), protective yet semi-oblivious mom Ugga (Catherine Keener), and extremely over-protective dad Grug (Nicholas Cage). How over-protective? No leaving the cave at night, cave is good outside bad, no exploring, strict rules, and no fun. Because fun is dangerous.

One day things change and Eep sneaks out of the cave, only to meet another person. Guy (Ryan Reynolds) who’s wearing his pet named Belt (Chris Sanders). Guy has a want to explore and he’s everything Eep has ever dreamed of, much to Grug’s dismay. Guy uses big words, invents things, and knows how to survive outside of a cave. Eep practically worships him and Grug tried to hurt him whenever possible.

Filled with comedy, insanity, and family this is a movie you’ll want to watch with those close to you.

Heather: Touching is a great word to describe this film. It made me look back on a lot of things from my childhood and how different I would be if I hadn’t been raised the way I was.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

