Goodviews: Grease

grease.jpg

Grease is your ordinary high school musical type story. Girl and boy meet while on summer vacation, girl thinks she’s leaving, guy tries to pressure her for sex, they think they’ll never see each other again, and suddenly girl turns up at his school and chaos ensues.

That’s putting it bluntly. Danny Zuko (John Travolta) and Sandy (Olivia Newton-John) have a summer fling before she’s heading back to Australia. Fast forward to school starting and you get awesome opening credits where the characters are in cartoon form while getting ready for the first day of school. While I’m not going into detail on every character I’m going to give as much as I can because these characters are hilarious. Betty Rizzo (Riz, Stockard Channing) is the leader of the Pink Ladies, a group of women associated with a group of greasers known as the T Birds led by Danny Zuko. Pink Lady Frenchy (Didi Conn) brings Sandy to Riz to try and get her in the Pink Ladies so she’ll have friends. Riz and others find out the Sandy’s dream guy from the summer is Danny and hatch a plan to tear the two apart. The Danny that Sandy knows is a good guy, but he’s the tough guy at school. The two don’t mix.

The movie is fully about how people change for each other and how we change based on the people around us. Not just the main characters, but the side characters and even some background characters. It also shows how hard it can be to be a normal teenager dealing with friendships, new students, and trying to get ready for the “real world” after graduation.

Heather: I’ll be the first to admit that I have an obsession with this movie. I watched this with family as a kid and I kind of blame this for my obsession with musical movies. It’s not for everyone, but all are worth a try.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

