Goodviews: Orange is the New Black

oitnb

Orange is the New Black is a Netflix original series based on the book.

Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) has been arrested, convicted, and sentenced on drug trafficking charges that she doesn’t remember. She’s trying to get a business up and running with a friend, her marriage becomes unstable, and her parents… Everything starts falling apart extremely fast.

Piper learns a lot about herself while she tries to follow all the rules (harder than you might think) and she meets some pretty interesting characters. Like Red (Galina Reznikov played by Kate Mulgrew) who rules the kitchen with an iron spatula (and don’t you dare insult her cooking), Big Boo (Lea DeLaria) the head lesbian with a taste for trouble, and Sophia Burset (Laverne Cox) the transgender hair stylist with a heart of gold and more issues than beauty supplies.

The show has a lot of amazing moments filled with humor and eye-opening moments, but there’s also a lot of graphic content.

Heather: I started watching the show one day when I was bored because I kept hearing about it in the media and I got hooked.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

