Goodviews: Grey’s Anatomy

Grey’s Anatomy is one of my all-time favorite shows and probably says more about me than I realize.

The show starts by following five interns at Seattle Grace Hospital. Meredith Grey (Ellen Pompeo), Christina Yang (Sandra Oh), George O’Malley (T.R. Knight), Alex Karev (Justin Chambers), and Izzie Stevens (Katherine Heigl).

In seasons two and three you get to learn more about the characters and what’s great is there’s not one character you learn the most about. Meredith is fighting with her on-again-off-again love interest that she met at a bar the night before her first day and found out he’s not only one of her Residents (level above Intern), but that he’s married! George has to deal with some parental issues (doesn’t everyone?), and there is so much more going on in the show that I want to share but can’t for fear of spoilers.

Down to the details, the show is full of interesting moments with medical information showing the students learning and yet you get to see some of the struggles that people go through. Not all of this is happening in one place somewhere in the world, but if you think about what’s happening on the screen in the personal lives of the characters you’ll realize that it shows them as human beings who make mistakes, fall in love, fall in love with the wrong people, and that they can overcome difficult times.

One of the most popular characters is Miranda Bailey (Chandra Wilson) who starts off as lead teacher to Meredith, Christina, Izzie, George, and Alex, but ends up not being able to shake the role even once they become teachers to their own interns.

If you’re someone who gets queasy easily keep in mind this is a medical drama. There’s blood and sometimes a lot of it. The show depicts traumatic situations and does have some sexual content involved. Nonetheless this is a show that I personally watch over and over again because I enjoy these characters so much.

While Eckhart Public Library only has seasons two and three you can speak with a staff member about Inter-Library Loaning items that have been out in your requested format for at least six (6) months.

Another exciting thing I found while gathering information for this post is that Shonda Rhimes, creator of Grey’s Anatomy, has a book out that the library has ordered titled Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun, and Be Your Own Person.

Heather: I truly love this show. A friend introduced me to it years ago and I’ve been hooked since my first episode. The show has been airing since 2005 and is still slated for a new season to come back in 2016. While I was looking to make sure I had character and actor names correct I found a fun fact that T.R. Knight and Katherine Heigl  are not only real life friends, but he was a groomsman at her wedding!

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

