Come Write In

There are still three more write in events to happen at Eckhart Public Library, so if you haven’t made it to one and still want to you’ve got some time.

The next write in will be on Monday, November 16th and runs from 5:30 P.M. until 7:45 P.M. Feeling behind on your word count? Come find someone to do a word war with! What’s a word war? A word war is where two or more writers agree on a chunk of time (say 15 minutes) and agree to start at a certain time (like the beginning of the hour, half past, quarter til, 5 after, etc.) and when the clock hits the agreed upon time the parties involved begin writing and stop writing when the time period ends. Whoever writes the most words is declared winner, but the best prize is that you’ve gotten that many more words written in your story.

What do you think of these word wars? Would you participate in one?

Heather: Personally, I think word wars are pretty awesome because you get to battle with friends and other writers and laugh about it. I’ve had scores ranging anywhere from “I’d rather not say” to “I can’t believe I wrote this much”. Because I have a lot of writer friends in other time zones we usually set our wars by saying something like “at :15 for 10” so at a quarter past the hour we start writing for 10 minutes. You don’t have to participate in word wars, but a lot of NaNoWriMo participants find them to be great motivation. Sometimes when you’re stuck a challenge to “just write” gives the oomph to get over whatever hurdle is in your way.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Library Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

