13 Posts of Fright: Friday the 13th

Friday

Even those who aren’t into the horror genre tend to know two big horror names. Freddy and Jason. Friday the 13th is all Jason Voorhees. The Eckhart Public Library copy has four Friday the 13th movies and includes two pairs of the 3-D glasses (the original ones with one lens blue and one lens red), but this post will focus on the first movie.

The movie starts out with background, showing two camp counselors who sneak away from a campfire sing-along to be alone, but end up murdered. The camp is then shut down for many years. Fast-forward to present day in the film and Camp Crystal Lake is opened once more. You see a counselor asking for directions at a local diner much to the shock and fear of the diner’s patrons and staff.

There’s not a lot I can say about this movie without giving away some of the things that will happen, but I can say there are things that happened in this movie that I wasn’t expecting. I did end up watching all four of these movies and wearing the 3-D glasses over my glasses was a little bit odd, but brought back memories of when those were the only 3-D style glasses.

Heather: Most people have a for certain favorite, Freddy or Jason. Personally, I can’t decide. Do you have a favorite between the two? How about a favorite horror character in general?

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 13 Posts of Fright: Friday the 13th

  1. Darcy says:

    It’s very hard for me to pick a favorite between Freddy and Jason. It really depends on my mood and the movie. Robert England (Freddy) is a legend, but Kane Hodder’s performance in Friday part VII is excellent. Also, WHY WOULD YOU KEEP REOPENING THE CAMP?!

    • Heather says:

      I’ve only see the Friday the 13th movies from this collection and they weren’t bad. Of this Jason vs. Freddy I prefer Freddy, but I need to watch more than just Nightmare on Elm St. the 1st one.

Leave a Reply

