13 Posts of Fright: Penny Dreadful

penny dreadful

Penny Dreadful airs through Showtime and isn’t for the faint of heart. The show is filled with gore, sex, violence, and a lot of paranormal happenings.

That said, I love the show. It’s dark, twisty, and filled with paranormal things and beings and includes some literary characters. Reeve Carney plays Dorian Gray (The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde), and Harry Treadway plays Dr. Victor Frankenstein (Frankenstein by Mary Shelley). Neither of these is what I picture when I think about the characters. The personality of Victor is almost timid at times and Dorian is hard for me to describe without giving away some of what happens in the show which takes away from some of the joy of watching. If you’ve seen the show or if you watch the show you’ll understand what I mean.

The show starts out season one with a lot of dark scenery, so it’s hard to tell what’s happening during some of it and it ends up being an abduction. Transfer to showing a man doing a wild west performance. This man is Ethan Chandler (Josh Hartnett) and becomes one of the main cast when Vanessa Ives (Eva Green) meets up with him in a bar and asks for his assistance because she needs a man who’s good with a gun. He thinks it over, but she knows he’ll meet up with her at the address she gives him.

When Ethan meets up with Vanessa in the middle of the night he meets Sir Malcolm Murray (Timothy Dalton) and the three start looking to find Sir Malcom’s daughter, but the end up fighting off vampires. A couple of episodes later you meet Lily (Billie Piper).

The cast is extremely interconnected, but not with enough overlap in season one that you’d need a map. It’s brilliant to see how these lives connect to each other and despite being so vastly different they’re similar in their own ways.

Heather: While I say Dorian is hard to describe and in my opinion he’s a twisty character I do enjoy Reeve’s acting and the character. I can’t pick a favorite in the series, but it comes down to Josh Hartnett as Ethan Chandler or Reeve Carney as Dorian Gray.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

