Goodviews: Firefly

firefly

I’m not quire sure how to begin talking about Firefly. This series is science-fiction, action, adventure, comedy, and so many things that while it fits a specific audience it also fits a very broad audience. So while I normally dislike westerns, I love the western parts for this series because it fits. Imagine steampunk western. Revolvers that shoot laser bullets!

Nathan Fillion stars as Captain Malcolm “Mal” Reynolds a former military man who causes nothing but trouble for the law while leading his crew through the galaxy on dangerous missions. Zoe Washburne (Gina Torres) has been with Mal since the beginning following him through war and onto the transport ship Serenity. Other members of the crew include pilot Hoban “Wash” Washburn (Alan Tudyk), trigger happy Jayne Cobb (Adam Baldwin), female mechanic Kaylee Frye (Jewel Staite), preacher Shepherd Book (Ron Glass), and companion Inara Serra (Morena Baccarin).

The story starts with Dr. Simon Tam (Sean Maher) trying to help his sister River Tam (Summer Glau) escape the government (The Alliance) that wants to use River for things she wants no part of.

The series is full of bits and pieces of every genre that I can think of and it fits so many people. It’s a great series if you want to watch something, but can’t decide what. And it’s from Joss Whedon, a man who has given us many wonderful things.

Heather: I’d heard all sorts of things and nothing at the same time. It did take me an episode to get really into the show, but even now I find myself thinking about it and humming or singing songs to it while I’m working on projects.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

