Remembering Leonard Nimoy

Leonard Nimoy, most famous for playing Mr. Spock in several iterations of “Star Trek,” died today at the age of 83.

Spock_hand

You can remember Nimoy’s life and work by checking out some of the movies in which he appeared, including “Star Trek: The Motion Picture,” “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan,” “Star Trek III: The Search for Spock,” “Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home,” “Star Trek V: The Final Frontier,” “Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country,” and “Star Trek” (2009 reboot).

You can also learn more about the history and production of “Star Trek” in the documentary “Star Trek: The Captain’s Summit,” also featuring William Shatner, Patrick Stewart, and Jonathan Frakes.

Or, you can always remember Nimoy’s lighter side with “The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins,” a bizarre and very fun music video from the 1960s. Nimoy certainly was multi-talented!

Staff at Eckhart Public Library have been reminiscing about Nimoy and his work since we heard of his passing. What’s your favorite memory of Leonard Nimoy?

About Jenny

I am the Associate Director of Eckhart Public Library. My office is in the Administrative Annex, but I can often be found roaming the Eckhart Public Library Campus, performing acts of librarianship in every department! I love to read and learn about history. I'm also a huge fan of movies, TV and pop culture in general, and I love to read books of all types. Currently, I'm working my way around the romance section, with some historical fiction and graphic novels thrown in for variety! But you never know what I'm going to pick up next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering Leonard Nimoy

  1. Heather says:

    Back in high school I took a class called Earth and Space Science and one day our teacher showed a film. Once the host/narrator came on screen our teacher paused the movie and asked if anyone knew who the actor was. I was extremely excited because I knew it was Nimoy and to this day I don’t know many celebrities by name or face. My hand flew up, holding the sign and I had to keep from screaming when I said “Spock!”. That was also one of the first times I embraced my nerdiness beyond band.

Leave a Reply

