Goodviews: My Neighbor Totoro

totoro

My Neighbor Totoro is one of Hayao Miyazaki‘s most well-known films. It was only through a cousin of mine that I was first introduced to Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli.

My Neighbor Totoro is the story of two young girls, Satsuki (voiced by Dakota Fanning in the Disney version) and Mei (voiced by Elle Fanning in the Disney version), who move to the country with their father, an educator (I’m not fully sure of the level off the top of my head as the schooling levels are different between Japan and the United States, though I will give an educated guess that it is some sort of higher learning), so they can be closer to their ill mother.

Satsuki is old enough to be in elementary school, and Mei isn’t old enough to start school yet, so while Satsuki is at school and dad’s at work Mei stays with a kind neighbor lady. Eventually the girls start growing a garden and try as they might it just won’t grow. Cue Totoro (toe-toe-row), one of the magical forest creatures.

Totoro is hard to describe. He’s big, he’s fuzzy, he’s a cat-bear-creature thing. He’s magic. He can change his size. He can fly.

The girls help Totoro one night, and Totoro returns their kindness. One day, after becoming distraught from her mother being gone for so long, Mei runs off. All the neighbors help Satsuki and the dad look for Mei to no avail and all fear that the small girl is lost or worse. Satsuki rushes off to enlist the help of Totoro and his forest friends.

That’s all I’m going to reveal for now. Find out more by watching the movie! Don’t forget, you can always place a movie on hold through our catalog with a library card number and a PIN. If you don’t know how library staff will be glad to show you and you can contact us and place a hold over the phone.

Heather: Amazingly enough My Neighbor Totoro is not my all-time favorite Miyazaki movie, but it is one of my many favorite movies and a fantastically emotional film.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Goodviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

