Writing in November: A Pep Talk

As you may have seen or heard before, I enjoy writing. A lot. Which makes November a huge month for me since it’s National Novel Writing Month (a.k.a. NaNoWriMo)

Shield-Nano-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiRes

Image courtesy of National Novel Writing Month

There are writers out there who are against NaNoWriMo, but I’m not one of them. Before I attempted NaNoWriMo for the first time back in 2010 I had several uncompleted projects. I still have some of those uncompleted projects, including the NaNo Novel from 2010, but more often than not I finish things now.

If you’re looking for help on the technical side of things the library has a lot of great items on writing in the catalog and a local writing group meets at the Eckhart Public Library twice a month.

If you’re looking for some quick tips read a little further below:

  • Build a support system – Be it your friends, family, pets, or even total strangers from your NaNoWriMo region. Support helps. In the darkest of moments sometimes one of your support people will know just what to say or how to get you writing again.
  • Break down the numbers – Don’t think of it as one 50,000 word novel or project. Think of it as a goal of writing 1667 words in a day for 30 days.
  • You CAN do it! – You know that little voice that sometimes pops up in the back of your mind when you try something new? The one that keeps saying “you can’t do it” and “you’re not good enough”? Consider this your permission (from me as a fellow writer) to tell that voice “knock it off”. You ARE good enough. You CAN do it!
  • Post in the NaNoWriMo forums – Or at least read them. It helps to read through posts (or even create threads) where people can discuss problems they’re having. Maybe someone else out there has a suggestion that might get your novel off the ground again. Or maybe you have a suggestion to something someone else has posted about.

I will have at least one more NaNoWriMo post this month with more tips for you.

Happy noveling!

This is my 5th year participating in NaNoWriMo. My first year was a miserable flop, but it helped give me the motivation to finish the next three. If you have questions about NaNoWriMo visit http://nanowrimo.orghttp://nanowrimo.org/faq, and http://nanowrimo.org/how-it-works. Don’t forget, the Eckhart Public Library has a NaNoWriMo event coming up on Monday, November 24th at 6:30 P.M.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

