ALA Youth Book and Media Awards

While we were all bundled up to stay warm on this cold winter morning, the American Library Association announced its much-anticipated youth book and media awards.

The winner of this year’s Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book is Locomotive by Brian Floca.

The committee named the following books Honor Books: Journey by Aaron Becker, Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle, and Mr. Wuffles! by David Wiesner.

journey Flora and the Flamingomr wuffles

The winner of this year’s Newbery Medal for the most distinguished children’s book is Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo.


This year’s Newbery Honor books are Doll Bones by Holly Black, The Year Of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes, One Came Home by Amy Timberlake, and Paperboy by Vince Vawter (currently on order)*.

doll yearofbilly onecamhome paperboy

The winner of this year’s Printz Award for the most distinguished young adult book is Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick.


This year’s Printz Honor books are Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susan Cokal, Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner, and Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool.

eleanorpark kingdomwounds maggot navigating

The Sibert Informational Book Medal winner is Parrots Over Puerto Rico.


This year’s Sibert honor books are A Splash of Red by Jen Bryant and illustrated by Melissa Sweet (currently on order*), Look Up! Bird Watching In Your Own Backyard by Annette LeBlanc Cate, Locomotive by Brian Floca, and The Mad Potter by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan (currently on order)*.

splash look up locomotive mad potter

The Geisel Award winner for the best book for beginning readers is The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli.


This year’s Geisel Honor Award books  are Ball by Mary Sullivan, A Big Guy Took My Ball by Mo Willems, and Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes.

ball bigguy penny

The Coretta Scott King Awards are granted to both an illustrator and and author.  This year’s Illustrator Award went to Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream For Me illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Ned Beaty.

knock knock

This year’s Coretta Scott King Author Award went to P. S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia.


The Pura Belpré Award winner for illustrations – Niño Wrestles The World by Yuyi Morales.
nino wrestles the world

The Pura Belpré Award winner for text is Yaqui Delgado Wants To Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina.


*If you are interested in any of the books on order, please contact the Children’s Department at and we will be happy to place them on Hold for you.


About Katy

Some of the books I've recently come to love include Signal To Noise by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, The Just City by Jo Walton, Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead, and Bug In A Vacuum by Melanie Watt. I'm a firm believer in the power of the Oxford comma.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s