Blurring the Lines: Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Leonard Peacock, an ordinary young man, Senior in high school. Life should be good, right?

Wrong.

Book Jacket for: Forgive me, Leonard Peacock : a novel

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock is the story of, as the title suggests, Leonard Peacock. “Today” is Leonard’s 18th birthday. Leonard has a plan. He’s going to give one gift each to the four people who mean the most to him. His neighbor, a classmate who plays the violin, a home-schooled girl who Leonard has a crush on, and his history teacher. Then Leonard plans to kill his former best friend and then himself with a P-38 pistol that belonged to his grandfather.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock is one of those books that’s hard to read, but easy at the same time because it captures you. Matthew Quick did an amazing job with this book and this book shows just how much one person’s life can be affected by another person’s actions, words, and even inaction.

Heather: This book reminds me of when I was in high school. Normally a book this size would take me somewhere between three and seven days to read. When I sat down and read this book I could not put it down. I finished this book in somewhere around the time frame of four hours. I’ve known people who have committed suicide and people who have tried and, thankfully, did not succeed. Please, if you know someone who is struggling mention the Suicide Hotline (link is to Suicide Hotline website). If you don’t want to go that route, contact a close friend, family member, or trusted adult. You never know. Maybe you’ll save someone’s life. If you do try reaching out to someone, please, be careful.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Blurring The Lines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

