Blurring The Lines: PostSecret

For those of you who don’t already know, PostSecret (http://www.postsecretcommunity.com/) is a gathering of secrets posted anonymously. Within the pages of these books people share things they might be afraid or proud of. Some of these secrets are about wanting to die, some are about family, some are indescribable.

Book Jacket for: My secret : a PostSecret book

Book Jacket for: PostSecret : extraordinary confessions from ordinary lives

I love these books. I’ve read through them multiple times and I’ve been to the website to read secrets. Click here to read how PostSecret got started. Why do I love these books? They’re real secrets from real people and these secrets can change your life. I spent a few semesters studying Psychology before I ever started working for the Eckhart Public Library and seeing these secrets brings back memories of reading stories in those books because sometimes the secrets mention therapy. The other main reason I love reading these books is because sometimes a person writes in a card and adds that after they’ve written it they feel free because their secret is no longer just with them. Even if they’re the only one who knows that he/she wrote the secret he/she is not the only one who knows the secret now. These books might be over at our Teen building, but they are certainly not just for teens. Sometimes it’s adults writing secrets too.

Heather: Everyone has a secret. Big. Small. Silly. Serious. Whatever. Sometimes sharing our secrets, even in something as simple and common as a journal, can help us. By reading some of the secrets through PostSecret I’ve felt more comfortable with some of my own secrets and it’s helped me in being able to share some of my secrets, things I’ve had weighing on my shoulders for years and years, with some of those closest to me.

About Heather

I often go by Razor as my nickname based on my last name. I work at a library and also write. I write anything from novels to poetry and I live for the written word.
This entry was posted in Blurring The Lines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

